End of season deals for a beginner - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2008, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default End of season deals for a beginner

Hey guys and gals. Welcome to another installment of the neverending "what to buy" threads. I'm a really beginner rider. Went twice in college (hard to believe that was a decade ago) and a couple times this season. I'm trying to convince my wife it's a good idea for me to invest in a set up, but with a 2 year old at home and another on the way, I won't get out more than a couple times a season. That said, I'm looking for a decent set up that I can grow into that will last me several years, but won't break the bank-- something in the $300-400 range.

Key info: 6'2", ~200lbs, size 10.5-11 boot (size 11 Hails) New England mountains, casual rider looking to ride groom, all mountain, some tricks but little-to-no park/halfpipe.

Most of my local shops are in the 30% to 40% range, and I've got a buddy that can get me some decent shape Burton gear from the Stowe toy-demo shop he works at for 50% off. I'm looking for a mid stiffness board, and comfy binding boot set up. I picked up Burton's Hail boots, but want to compare them to the Rider X's my buddy set aside for me--either boot is going to run me about $130-$140. Other than that, most of my research has been in Burton gear, but would love input on some other good-tech for your buck gear.

Last edited by fostpaint; 03-20-2008 at 01:08 PM.
fostpaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-17-2008, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)

Arrow Size 11 Boot=Mid Wide/Wide