best board for a beginner. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2012, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default best board for a beginner.

Hey all im just looking for some advice on a new snowboard, Ive only ever been snowboarding 3 times or so. i guess you could say im still a beginner but i would be at the end of beginner as i can board without any problems turn and all that stuff. what i will be mainly doing is just riding around the mountain as im not good enough to ride in the park yet. i want something i can progress with but also have fun with and something that can handle its self at decent speed. I will also mention it will have to be a wide board as i wear size 12 snowboard boots. If you need to know any more info let me know. Any help will be muchly appreciated Thanks
vassallo21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-01-2012, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus

I know you're looking for an easy answer here but unfortunately there is no "best board" for any person or situation. If you can get to a demo day at a local hill that would be my best piece of advice.

Otherwise, stay in the mid-range of most product lines and you'll end up with a good setup. My girlfriend started with a K2 Luna, K2 Bliss bindings, and Burton Sapphire boots. Those are all mid-range, all-mountain style items. You don't want to limit yourself by buying the extreme of any spectrum (ie. stiffness, camber profile, etc. etc.)