GNU Carbon Credit Series Wide or not - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2012, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default GNU Carbon Credit Series Wide or not

Hey guys, I am a beginner snowboarder and am leaning towards getting a Gnu Carbon Credit Series BTX board but am not sure if i need a wide or not.

I am 180 pounds and 6 ft 1 inch. I wear about 11-11.5 in normal shoes and am not exactly sure of my snowboard boot size. I had some rental salomon boots that were size 11 and I was riding a 160 salomon pulse which has a waist of 251mm. It felt a bit narrow for my boots but I am not sure if I had toe overhang or not.

I was going to order a 162 in the CCS but not sure about getting the wide width or just the regular.
The waist width on the regular is 258 vs 267 on the wide in size 162.

Any thoughts?
spacemanspiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2012, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

Wide vs. not wide is barely a choice... Look at the waist widths you have there. 258 vs. 267 isn't even one centimeter. That's barely more than a 3% difference in width, or less than one shoe size worth in length. Which means that will change your heel and toe overhang by 4.5 mm, or less than one half of a shoe size.

If you think you might like the wider board, get the wider board. Your feet will be fine on either.
Irahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

try the calculator that was just posted recently...also hard to know w/o knowing the actual boot size cuz now a lot of the boots come w/ reduced footprint
triumph.man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-