Need advise on buying a new board. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2012, 03:51 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Need advise on buying a new board.

Hi there,
I'm relatively new to snowboarding. I rode a snowboard for the first time in my life about 6 weeks ago. I immediately became addicted to snowboarding. I now practice about 5 hours per week at an indoor snowdome. I have 8 years of skateboarding experience, and -I hope this doesn't sound to narcissistic- appear to be very talented at snowboarding.

I'm paying about $20 for snowboard and boots rental per week, so I think it's time to buy my own gear before I go bankrupt.
I encountered a small problem tough. Usually you choose a snowboard which fits the level of skill you are at. But I feel like I'm improving really really fast, and I don't want to buy a board which matches my current level of skill but holds me back a couple of months later. So basically my question is: Is it smart to buy a board which is made for people with a higher level of skill than the level I'm currently at?

Also, maybe you have some suggestions for a good board for me? I first wanted to buy the DC Tone 11/12 (157 cm, wide)(Blue Tomato Winkel | DC Tone 154 wide 11/12 Snowboard | DC | Freestyle + freeride boards |*Snowboards --> Site is probably Dutch since I'm Dutch), but a friend told me that it's way too stiff and not a good board for me, so I'm really troubled about that too. If you think you know a good board for me, please tell me, It would help me a lot ^^. I'll try to give as much information about myself which might help determining which board is best for me:

- Length: 185 cm
- Weight: 65 kg
- Bootsize: 11.5 (US size)