board for powder and carving - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 09:44 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default board for powder and carving

any suggestion if i just wanted to do those?

Requirements:

- Easy turn initiation
- Good edge hold
- Good float
- Fast

Not going to use it at all for park

Thanks guys
kanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-04-2012, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

jones flagship, smoking kt-22, venture odin, gnu temple,neversummer raptor or premier, ride highlife, burton supermodel, (not sure if they make it anymore they probably have something similar) these are all stiff big mountain boards with some powder specific shaping added.
Old 07-04-2012, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus

I'm still a pro-camber kinda guy. For big mountain stuff, powder and carving on groomers, I like a stiff cambered board. I'm on a burton T7 but there are many options. Burton Custom X, Neversummer Raptor, Kessler Ride, Prior Freeride (can be made full camber too), I'm sure there are others...

Also if you are going to be doing large turns in either powder or groomed snow, a longer board will be beneficial. A few cm longer than what you typically ride will help with edge hold, float, and speed.

Some people say camber doesn't float as well as rocker. Just move your bindings back a couple inches if you're focused on a LOT of powder. Or if you're riding powder on a regular basis maybe a powder board is right for you, something that you can take on groomers but is most at home in the fluffy stuff.

Where are you going to be riding the most?
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 01:29 PM   #4 (permalink)