New Board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 10:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Default New Board

It seems these are never ending threads. I'm in the market for a new board, as I feel I am ready to upgrade from my 2010 Salomon Ace. That's my first board, and I'm looking for something lighter and with more pop - more of a freestyle board. I'm 5'9" and 150lbs. I've been riding for a few years, and have been out west to CO (Breck several times & Keystone). I'm looking for a lightweight board that can handle aggressive carves and has good/great pop and can handle pow on the off chance I'll get the opportunity. I'm currently looking at (in no particular order):

K2 Turbo Dream
K2 Slayblade
Lib Tech Attack Banana
Rome Mod Rocker
GNU Dirty Pillow

Here's the caveat - I ride regular, but my left (front) leg isn't as strong as my right leg, due to a car accident years ago. I only mention that, because I think that affects my ability to ollie/jump so I would really prefer a board with good pop. I'm a fairly aggressive rider, more of a speed person than a trick rider, but I want to strengthen my jumping ability. Nothing crazy though. Any comments on the above boards or new suggestions?
gunner252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-02-2012, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

General pop from most to least:
1. Traditional camber
2. Flat
3. Hybrid Camber
4. Rocker

That being said pop in any one of these designs can be augmented with carbon, wood, metal and construction techniques. All of these designs will also offer dead boards and poppy ones. Personally I'd buy a board with the camber shape that best suits the type of riding you want to do.
bseracka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Quote: