Beginner needs your help w board and size! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginner needs your help w board and size!

I am 6'3 180 w shoe size 11 AND last season was my first time snowboarding. I snowboard in Catalooche NC and was able to go on green area. Went about 4 days and fell in love with snowboarding... plan on doing it atleast 10 days this time and going on at least blue area of the park. I also plan on making a trip to snowshoe WV (not sure if that matters).

I am looking to buy my own equipment for the upcoming season and been trying to do research on my own. However keep getting different board sizes and the number of board brands is a bit overwhelming.

I am a college student and on a budget but at same time i dont want to get something crappy.

The sizes i have been recomended range anywhere from 159W to 165W so i am not sure what size i should get.

Thanks for the help in advance.
Weezy32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2012, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Go buy boots first, you probably don't need a wide board. After you get boots then you will know what board width and binding size will be right for what you have.

Try on lots, different companies have very different feels to them and are very different in sizes.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Hi Weezy,

Stoked that you are loving boarding!

There is no such thing as a rider's size. By that I mean you will not have a single tip to tip centimeter size that will work well for you on every (or even most) models. This relatively unimportant measurement will vary greatly by model and what rider spec and type of riding the individual deck was designed for.