Questions regarding a new board+bindings+boots - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Questions regarding a new board+bindings+boots

Hey guys,

I have a couple of questions regarding a planned purchase of a new snowboard+bindings+boots and was hoping you guys would be able to help me.

First off, my measurements: I am 185cm (about 6'05) and weigh about 80kg (175 pounds) with normal shoe size of 44.5/45 (an 11-11.5 i think). I dont do tricks and dont race down the piste either - i generally enjoy simply cruising down the hill.

So, I admit I am not very experienced when it comes to buying a board. Actually, I've only ever bought one, and that was an entry level Nitro board when I was 15 - that was 13 years ago and since then I've gone boarding many times but usually rent stuff. Now I am planning on getting me a new set, and I am really lost - with just about everything!

My old board was a 159, and I've rented multiple boards between 158 and 165 and feel that the shorter ones are better for me. I feel them to be more maneuvarable and since I am not that much into pure speed the "slowness" that is attributed to a shorter board doesnt bother me. So I am planning to get something in the 158 area. Does that make sense given my size? I hear that I should be taking 162++ boards, but those felt awkward for me. Also, due to my large feet, I think I should be getting a mid-wide at least, right?

Regarding boots and bindings i admit - i have not the slightest clue whats good.

I am sorry if my post is so "unprofessional", and I've tried doing research but I am totally lost and would really appreciate a bit of assistance.

Thanks,
Ebselarius
Ebselarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-11-2012, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member