own '09 NS Titan, need 2nd board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question own '09 NS Titan, need 2nd board

I've been riding an '09 NS Titan 160 (i'm 6', 150lbs) for several years, it's the only board I currently own. The thing is a supurb free-ride board which is mostly what I'm into (also tree runs), it's stable, can probably carve on ice and I usually pass everyone on catwalks.

Lately I've been doing more jumps, both at speed and slower and want to get into some 360's this season. I think the Titan is a bit heavy and maybe too stiff for doing this. So I'm looking for an additional board that would be a bit more manageable in the air but not too soft, unstable or jittery at higher speeds (maybe even capable of 80% what i get with the Titan). I spend almost no time at the park unless it's for jumps.

Considering the '13 Heritage and Cobra (not sure which would be a better middle-ground) Also, maybe go with a bit shorter board (158). I'm not hung up on NS, but would probably prefer not to go with Burton. Also hear good things about Rossignol One MagTek.

Also, what's currently a lighter-than-Titan replacement with comparable dampness/free-ride performance?

I mostly board CO but hopefully Jackson Hole or Whistler next year.

thx!

Last edited by leeoniya; 10-22-2012 at 11:45 AM.
leeoniya is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2012, 01:40 AM   #2 (permalink)

^^^bump^^^
leeoniya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:02 AM   #3 (permalink)

I'd recommend the Heritage as a 2nd board for what you're talking about. I've got one from 2010 I think and love it, forgiving but also maintains some freeride capability. As I understand it the Cobra is a bit more directional, but it might not be a huge difference.