Experienced Rider Changing it up. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Experienced Rider Changing it up.

I've been riding for about 7 years now. Spent last winter working at a resort got lots of days in. I live on the East Coast of Canada where the majority of snow on the hills is man-made. I am moving to Calgary this winter and plan on riding some real mountains while in the West.

Basically my question is what board should I take a look at for all mountain riding and something I can shred in the terrain park.

My current set up:

-2012 Burton Blunt
-2012 Burton Cartel Bindings

The board I was looking at was the 2012 Lib Tech Skate Banana. Just wondering what other boards are out there in the 300-500 range for some Western Canada shredding.

Thanks.
PJDAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus

We get a fair helping of powder here, and the powder we get is usually pretty light. Also there are some ice days but not nearly as often as I experienced growing up in Ontario.

If you're into big lines I'd get a longer board than you'd typically ride for out here. The hills are wide open, and the powder gets deep. The biggest difference I saw with the transition is the hills are more rugged, less manicured. I had to tone down my riding style a bit for the first month or so out here, gotta feel your way down a run before really letting loose.

The Prior AMF (all mountain freestyle) is a true twin if that's your thing, a little camber underfoot with lifted tips for powder float. Should be a good all around board for rocky mountain fun! lol

All Mountain Freestyle Snowboard Model From Prior Snowboards | Buy Snowboards Online | Whistler Canada