Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Absolute newb, rent? Or buy board? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/52110-absolute-newb-rent-buy-board.html)

tony477g 12-10-2012 08:06 AM

Absolute newb, rent? Or buy board?

Ive only gone snowboarding once and wasn't very good. This year though i plan on taking a lesson to get the basics down quicker. I could get down the hill i just couldnt turn :dizzy: I was also on a black diamond, Imagine that. Anyway I have three options with the board. Rent which would be $35 everytime i go. Buy a cheaper board considering im new, but i'd have to have it for a while and in the long run it'll probably just sit there. Or just go out and buy a board $350 and up and have that one for a very long time. I already have boots I just need the board and bindings.

chomps1211 12-10-2012 08:18 AM

The "Vet's" here will no doubt tell you this with better detail & reasoning than I can, but rent a board or buy? The Very First thing you should be shelling out money for is boots!!!!

You can get by just fine on a rental board for a while, but good fitting boots will make ALL the difference in comfort and ability to stay strapped in & on the hill for longer periods. Which will also help with skills progression. Rental boots typically SUCK! It's hard to focus on what you're learning and applying good technique when your feet are "Killing You"!

Jm2c!

Lamps 12-10-2012 08:29 AM

Lessons now on rented board is a good way to go, no rush to get the board

chomps1211 12-10-2012 08:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tony477g (Post 550061)
Ive only gone snowboarding once and wasn't very good. This year though i plan on taking a lesson to get the basics down quicker. I could get down the hill i just couldnt turn :dizzy:

I already have boots I just need the board and bindings.