Did I make a good choice? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 04:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Did I make a good choice?

I picked up a new board for this season the other day. Spent a lot of time doing research, and picked up the Burton Restricted Nug (2013), 150cm length.

I was riding the K2 Raygun 2012 last year. I'm still a beginner, and it was really getting to me since it felt too big (I picked a 161cm), and the stance forced my feet about an inch or so out of shoulder width at the closest settings which was a pain for me.

I'm 5'10 and fluctuate between 170 and 190 pounds depending on the season for lifting (so during winter I aim to keep around 180).

I was interested in something smaller, I wanted to play around with binding positioning a little more on the slopes & have options to bring the stance width a little closer, and I wanted something that was completely twin-directional in shape and flex (since I'm quite comfortable riding switch & I like a duck stance). I wanted something that I can take everywhere (powder, all-mountain, etc), but I don't want to ride super fast... and I wanted easier less-fatiguing handling overall. I live near Whistler, which is probably the best mountain in the area, and I hear it can be a demanding mountain if you want to make the most of it (which I have yet to do -- funny that I live an hour away but have never gone up to that mountain yet).