Freeride board recommendations - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Freeride board recommendations

Hello all,

I'm in the market for a new board and am looking for suggestions.

I've been snowboarding since 1988 and have found that I prefer longer stiff boards. For the past few years I have been riding an Arbor Woodie Wide 169, which I believe was a precursor to the Roundhouse Wide. The Woodie carves like a demon, but it's length and weight make flipping it around in the steeps a pain in the ass.

So, I'm looking for a stiff camber board that carves well, available in a wide versions for my size 13 feet, around 165 cm in length.

This past weekend I rode 6 different Burton boards over two days at mount Hood. Conditions were perfect and I was able to get a good sense of what e boards felt like. At the end if it all I liked the Custom x Wide 164 the most.

So, if anyone can offer recommendations as to what other boards I might consider (along with the custom x and arbor roundhouse) please let me know.

Thanks!
Cburdick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-26-2012, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus

I've been riding the Custom Xs stiffer brother the T7 for about 70 days, in a 159 (I'm only about 165 lb) and loved it. Just moved up to a Virus Avalanche FLP AFT and I see the light now. It's got a more boardercross oriented shape, meaning a 160 cm board has a 140 cm+ effective edge, instead of in the 120s.

I was out carving on it today and it's about as good as it can get for carving with softboots methinks.

Had it out in a couple feet of powder a week and a half ago and it felt at least as good if not better than my T7 159 in the powder.