Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Upgrading a board advice - womans' gnu? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/53016-upgrading-board-advice-womans-gnu.html)

Lanaia 01-03-2013 01:02 PM

Upgrading a board advice - womans' gnu?

Hi,

This is my first post and I'm sorry if my terminology is lacking but I figured this would be the best place to ask.

I've picked up a dirt cheap 149cm 5150 amethyst last year since I didn't want to spend on rental and I wasn't sure if I was going to learn/like snowboarding. Well I LOVE IT and it's time for a new board.

Here's what I can/want to do with it:

1. all mountain - eastern side of US so well groomed mostly
2. no park for now
3. I don't think I'm a beginner since I can do any trail and will take a small jump here and there but I will fall on flatter parts ( I dunno if it's my board or me but I'm on a true camber). Not afraid to go faster either.
4. I'm size 9/10 woman, 5'8 and 128 lbs

Budget is up to $500

My friend got the gnu b-pro and she loves it but she's must better then me so I figured I don't need that much of a board? any advice?

Thank you for your time.

Gnardog 01-03-2013 01:09 PM

If you can get the B-Pro, go for it. You will grow into it and as you progress you'll love its features. The GNU Magne-Traction is excellent in all surface conditions (Ice, PP, MM, ect.). The C2 BTX camber is also killer. Buttery, but not wishy washy like some boards with that camber type can be. You'll get some nice extra pop too.
The Rome LO-FI may also be another choice to consider. Take a gander at it and watch a few review vids. Also go take a look at one at a local shop.

Argo 01-03-2013 01:10 PM

Smokin snowboards vixen. My wife loves hers....

Lanaia 01-03-2013 01:41 PM