Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   K2 Protohype 2011/12 for Beginner (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/56169-k2-protohype-2011-12-beginner.html)

Endlesscc 01-18-2013 10:03 AM

K2 Protohype 2011/12 for Beginner

Hello!

First post at the forum and being a snowboarder noob I have a couple questions for the expert!

I started snowboarding last year , went 5 times, always rented equipment and can barely snowboard from top of the hill to the bottom :p but I am so in love with the sport.

Instead of renting the equipment again I decided to buy my own this year and had my eyes on k2 Protohype ( yes I understand it is an expert board) due to the huge price cut, $299 at a local retail store for 153. Binding would be K2 Formula and Northwave Freedom SL boot.

I understand that the Protohype is an expert and freestyle board, and being a beginner and only want to learn to snowboard from top if the hill to the bottom, and will not be doing any park or jumping, I am worried if Protohype would be a decent board for me.

I read a lot of review about the Protohype, reviews said itis stiff,damp and fast. I am wondering if a beginner like me would benefit from the board or the board will limit my growth in the sport?

Thank you

triumph.man 01-18-2013 10:30 AM

you will learn eventually, but your learning curve will take much longer.

Endlesscc 01-18-2013 10:39 AM

Thanks for the reply!

So a better idea would be getting something cheaper?
I have seen K2 Darkside, Burton Clash, k2 control etc for similar price. Really only reason I wanted the Protohype is because the sales person said it is a really good deal at $699 and came down to 299$.

So my next question would be, will the Protohype limit my growth , and is it a bad board for only riding from the top to the bottom? Thanks!