Help in deciding an all mountain board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help in deciding an all mountain board

Looking for a little help on a new board to ride.

I am 6'5", ~180 lbs and size 13 boots. I normally ride mostly groomers with some park and powder thrown in. I currently ride a Nitro Voltage 163 but im not sure what the rocker type of that is (traditional camber)?

I'm new to the whole rocker/camber hybrid thing but it sounds like for what I want to ride a rocker/camber/rocker would be good?

I saw a Yes. The Greats wide 160 which I thought may be good.

Any help on what some good boards would be is appreciated. Also not sure on the type of length I should be riding.

Thanks
bodero is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-18-2013, 01:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Reformed Creep-o-saurus

Pretty sure that Nitro is cambered. If you're already comfortable on camber, going to camber with "lifted tips" (i.e. rocker-camber-rocker) would be a logical choice.

The other option would be to just stick with camber... For groomer bombing there is nothing better.

For your weight a 160 is a good size. Size down a bit if you do more park than powder, size up if the opposite.
poutanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)

I think the 160 is too small for a dude your size, I am 6'3 and got a 169 and the fit is good. Maybe try something a like a 165?? If you like to spin maybe something a bit shorter. I know for my 169 the jump has gotta be perfect in order for me to get all the way around when pullin 3's.