Designing a snowboard binding - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
pneub

Default Designing a snowboard binding

Hey everybody. I've been snowboarding for about 10 years now and have taken on the project of designing a new style of snowboard binding. I'm currently in my senior year as an industrial design student and looking for what people have to say about their gear. Any insight about what you would like to see changed or featured in a binding would be appreciated, or if you can just answer the few questions I have then maybe a better binding can come from your help. Thank you

What style of rider are you and how long have you been riding?

What bindings do you use? Why? What features make them the ones you chose?

What adjustments do you make on the mountain in a normal day?

How often do you change your forward lean, stance, or highback angle in a single day?

Have you broken a binding? If so how?

Do your bindings cause pressure points? If so where?

What would make your bindings better? Quicker strap-in time? Faster adjustments? Cheaper? More durable? Easier to collapse or take off? Anything?

Thanks for your answers and your time. See you guys next winter with a new prototype for a binding at mammoth.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2008, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
geoko

I've been riding for about 13 years, mostly freeride, but it's not too uncommon to find me meandering the park.

I have Forum Republics. They're extremely comfy and responsive, and they have a really nice toe rise for those of us with the bigger feet. And I'm not above admitting that they're pretty too.