All mountain board for intermediate/advanced - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default All mountain board for intermediate/advanced

I've been snowboarding for 10 years now but usually take 1 trip per year out west and ride for about 5 days. I own my own boots but I've always rented a board and have decided to buy one. I'm looking for something under 300 but i'll go up to 350 for a great board. I've been looking at mainly left over 2012s. I want an all mountain board that is great on groomers, can handle the occasional pow day and just a little bit of use in the park.
My stats are:
- Int/adv. rider
- 5'6, 145lbs
- 10 boot

I'm considering
- 2013 Capita NAS 153
- 2012 K2 Raygun 153
- 2012 Ride Machete 152

These are all under 300. I'm completely open to recomendations and have no clue what to get. I'll be going to the Canyons in march so want something fast as I heard there are a lot of flat spots but I know the Capita and K2 are extruded bases.

Thanks
mrm2083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-22-2013, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

I have the 12 Machete, and love it. You can flat base it and bomb the whole mountain, if you're looking for speed. I was able to maintain an edge even on icy conditions at a good fast pace...nothing like a cambered board, but good enough to have control at high speeds.

Starting to learn to ride switch, and definitely much easier than on my cambered board. Pop, just learning to make jumps, but definitely can feel a huge difference next to my old board.
triumph.man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Leo
-LIFETIME MEMBER-