Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Total newb - need advice (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/57641-total-newb-need-advice.html)

k8xp 01-22-2013 05:15 PM

Total newb - need advice

Hey everybody, I'm Kate, never been snowboarding before so need opinions on my gear and the board before I go next week. I have Salomon Linea boots (size 6) which fit awesome, and bought these Morrow goggles: http://www.big5sportinggoods.com/pho.../-/size-os.jpg

Potential problem: My cousin let me borrow her older K2 149cm board with Burton bindings, it appears to be a flat board. However, I looked at a chart and it says I should have a smaller one. I'm almost 5"2 and 95 pounds at 19 (have Crohns disease) so will not be gaining weight.

Is the K2 board going to be a major problem cause it's 149 or will it be ok? I have experience skateboarding, and although a little nervous, feel pretty confident about starting out on snow! Want to start out on a good note, if it's going to be hard to control or something, then I'll suck it up and use the money to buy a smaller board. If I have to.

http://i1200.photobucket.com/albums/...psc9ab36a2.jpg

KIRKRIDER 01-22-2013 05:21 PM

You will be good. Make sure that you check a couple of things the day(S) BEFORE.
Set your boots in the bindings and tune the bindings on the boots (plenty of videos on YT about that). Make sure that the boot is well wrapped by the straps.

See if the angles the board is set up with work for you, if not change them.

try the bindings one last time with your boots on. It will save you a lot of stress and time on the slopes.

Have fun!

liner 01-22-2013 05:23 PM

its gunna be pretty big and alot to move for you. but possible. For reference, im 5'9 150lb (a guy) and ride a 154.