The future of snowboarding - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2008, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
The Hammer

Default The future of snowboarding

Hey all,

My name is Britt Ashcraft and I am a product designer by profession but love to snowboard in my free time. This is a project I did on the side looking into what the future of snowboarding could be. Let me know what you think.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg snowboard page 1.jpg (77.0 KB, 65 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-21-2008, 08:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
NickNorth11

I think a lot of us like being different, at least to some degree, so the translucent board might not be a hit with many. Boots cost a fortune as it is and work great, so computerizing them seems superfluous. The glove doesn't make too much sense to me, with the buttons on the palm. The goggles are a great idea. Everything about the goggles seems great.
Old 06-21-2008, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Veteran Member

very futuristic looking but not too practical. could be props for a sci-fi movie.
Old 06-21-2008, 09:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Danimal!!!!!!

Location: Frederick, MD in other words to far from the big mountains

Yea dude sorry to say but thats stuff is just a little over the top, there is no need for translucent boards or LEDs on boots. And I think that even the goggles and above and beyond anything that might be affordable let alone practical.
Old 06-21-2008, 10:05 AM   #5 (permalink)

Great ideas, but I can see so many of those functions failing quite quickly, especially with how aggressive some people are with their equipment. Too many buttons and doohicky's is just asking for problems.
boarderaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Danimal!!!!!!

Location: Frederick, MD in other words to far from the big mountains