Upgrading board: what to get? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2008, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
adk

Default Upgrading board: what to get...custom or agent?

I posted this on the Equipment Review section, but I think this might be more visible here.

I've been riding seriously for about 5 years now. I'm 5'6'', 130 lbs, size 8.5 boot, and I like to freeride (80% all-mountain/20% park), and I think my current board (Saloman Amp 149) has been good for that. I consider myself an intermediate/advanced rider, and I would like to upgrade to a nicer board. But I wouldn't mind something that complements what I currently have too. I live in SoCal, so I make day trips to the crappy local mountains, but I also make enough trips up to Tahoe, etc. every season. So I'd like a board that can work in all types of conditions.

So here's the scoop: I got a very good deal on a Burton Custom 151, but I'm not completely sure it's what I'm looking for. Do you guys think this could be the right board for me? What do you guys think about the length?

A little update: Some other people are telling me that the Custom 151 might feel about the same length as my current board. A dude at a local board shop who sounded pretty knowledgeable suggested a slightly longer board that is more stiff. He suggested looking at the Rome Agent, Mod, and Solution in the 152-154 range, or a Lib Tech in that same range.

Last edited by adk; 07-31-2008 at 03:27 PM.
adk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-24-2008, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

agents been gettn good reviews, i agree with the larger board idea if you like ya freeriding more than your park
nzboardlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
con3593