Half giant looking for a good starter equip. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2008, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
refIV

Default Half giant looking for a good starter equip.

My name is ray, I am a beginner with some basics on my belt. I see myself as a freerider more and not really a freestyle rider. I am 27 and live on the (ice/east) coast. I have been out probably about 4 different seasons ( about 5 days each ) I have rented all the way and tired of renting. I am 6'1" and 195 lbs. I have a 12/12.5 boot size. I am looking to get a board about 155-160 in length. So far my budget is looking tight so I am not trying to go crazy. I am planning on ivesting in the board more than the bindings or boots. The boards I have looked at so far are the Morrow radium and the Morrow Clutch. Any suggestions/ recommendations would be awesome. (sorry so long winded)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2008, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Simply^Ride

For my first set I made the fatal mistake on buying a good board and bad bindings and boots. Bindings and boots are extremely important to a rider, buy good ones, trust me you will regret it later on.

as for the board goes i think the lowest you should go in size is a 158 and that is for a pure freestyle deck. For all mountain board look for something in the 162-163 range and for pure powder 165 (not that you need one in the ice coast ). You got big feet so you need a wide board, something with a waist of 258 should be great, but those are hard to find. If you get something with less waist you might need to get risers to avoid shoe drag.

I would have to look for specific boards, but just letting you know about that. Don't be cheap with the boots.
Old 07-08-2008, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
refIV