Jones mountain twin, good choice? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Jones mountain twin, good choice?

Hi, im new here!

I’m Dutch, and as you probably know Holland is flat. That means to go snowboarding I can go indoors (sucks) or I can go to the Alps. I’ve been doing the last for about 18 years now. Been on a snowboard for about 14 years. However, time is usually limited to 1 week a year, sometimes 2 but no more than that

The last 5 years I’ve been riding on a K2 Titan 159 (2007 model) I had burton mission bindings but broke a highback, no spare parts where we were so had to buy a new set… I ended up buying burton triads (2009 I think). Because they were 50% off and I didn’t have a ton of money at the time. Not the best combination but ok….

I like freeriding, bit of an all mountain boarder and like to try everything (except rails, not a fan of them, they hurt!) jumps are cool but really need to practice more on them. I'm pretty good at charging down the mountain at 85+km/h but it's time for something new!

Because the K2 titan is a real stiff board and more of a ‘charge down the mountain / endless grip and pressure’ kind of board I’m looking in to getting something that is more playful. That’ll be good fun to do some jumps with and has some more pop.

Did some research and read a bunch of reviews and It seems like the Jones Mountain Twin is a good board for me, good at a lot of stuff, can still go fast and do powder and groomers without a problem but more fun to be on than my titan. All the reviews I found keep saying ‘best all mountain board of this season’.

Info about me:
Length 1.93 meters (that’s 6ft 5”)
Weight 86kg’s (thats just under 190 lbs)
Boots Salomon pledge 45 2/3 (US size 11-11.5)
Budget doesn’t really bother me too much.

So a few questions: