Time to trade in the Ride Timeless? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Time to trade in the Ride Timeless?

Hey folks, please excuse my poor terminology and hopefully one of you knowledgeable folks can help.

I've been boarding for the past 15 years on and off, for the past 7 (more consistently) on a ride timeless 55 (Circa 2003) with flow flite 3 bindings. I got the board 2nd hand in 2005ish. I had no idea about types of boards when I got it, but do enjoy riding it. I'd peg myself as a well contented intermediate. I can get down most things (reds and blacks) but I'm a lazy bugger and usual stick to the main slopes and a wee bit of powder. I like long red and blue runs (my favourite is a 14km run at Bramberg an Wilkogel). I've no interest in fun parks/jumps and rarely ride fakie (always goofy footed).

I'm 5ft 8in, 92.5kg and size 8uk boot. So average height but stocky. Ride daffish +15deg and -8deg.

I'm thinking of getting a new board. I like the recycling idea so will probably look at ebay, but for the right price may purchase a new board (I don't mind one a few seasons old).

Any ideas on the following:
Should I try a longer board 160cm? or just stick with the 155cm? board calcs point to larger boards
Best to stick with an all mountain or try a free-ride? I think my timeless is classed as an all mountain.
Should I consider something less stiff, I've noticed it's a bugger to turn when the slopes are compacted/icy, i'd imagine a more flexible board would help?
Also is the done thing to have flow bindings with a stiff board.