Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Worth buying? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/6248-worth-buying.html)

Ben Carley 07-23-2008 07:40 AM

Worth buying?

Hi, I am a beginner on a snowboard starting out this year. I recently attained my ESF class 4 and was wondering if its worth buying a board for my third trip out or carry on renting boards and equipment? And if it is worth buying what equipment should I be looking at and how much will it be? I'm not to sure about what's what when it comes to equipment:dunno:

Cheers

killclimbz 07-23-2008 09:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)
How many days are you planning on getting this season? If you are going to do more than 10 days, getting your own equipment is probably not a bad thing to do. If it's less than 10 maybe not so much. 5 or less, I would probably just rent. As you progress you are going to find you will out grow whatever you are using anyway.

Ben Carley 07-23-2008 09:35 AM

Well I'm hoping to go out twice for one week slots so maybe it is worth buying, but I'm only just coming up to my 16th birthday so will I grow out of my board? or are boards not as height specific as skis are?

killclimbz 07-23-2008 10:10 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Boards are weight specific. Height has almost nothing to do with selecting a board. In fact, if a shop is going by height in recommending a board, turn around and walk out, because you already know more than they do.

I would say you are boarder line on wanting to own. Rental prices do add up and probably for the cost you could have your own equipment. If you buy, make sure you do not spare any expense on boots (if you don't already own), that is the number one thing to not skimp on.

Ben Carley 07-23-2008 10:17 AM

Thanks for all your help :)

Which boots would you recommend?

killclimbz 07-23-2008 10:30 AM

1 Attachment(s)