Recommended Set-up for a bigger guy - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)

Thumbs up Recommended Set-up for a bigger guy

Hey everyone, I was wondering if you could help me. I am new to snowboarding and starting to get more and more into it. I was wondering if you guys could suggest a set up for me, a bigger guy.
My dimensions are:

6 feet tall (likely to grow to be about 6'3"
205 lbs
17 years old
size 11 shoe

I am a beginner however my friends who are quite good say I am learning quickly I did blue on my first day of learning without falling, I dont know if that is good or bad, as I said, I am quite new to snowboarding. I would like a set up that isn't too too expensive. I prefer downhill/ freeride boards. I like doing occasional tricks but it will not be used for only tricks. Thanks so much and keep shredding.
Wujaxkong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2013, 10:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

This is a pretty open ended question.

What do you friends ride? Have you had a chance to test anything out?
ksup3erb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)

A few of my friends are bigger and they picked up Status Stigma's from last year and they are loving them. They usually ride tahoe/mammoth and they claim the extra width (around 26cm?) was perfect for their larger foot size. I ride the Status Uno and love it but it may be a bit too narrow for you. Looks like last year's stigmas are on sale too, fyi.

2012 STIGMA Series : STATUS Snowboard Company
Sal78sierra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)

You don't need a wide board until you get up to size 12. I ride a size 11 boot and from my experience you'll be fine on anything 25.3 width and up.