Help me select a board por favor... - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2013, 09:57 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help me select a board por favor...

Hi guys! I posted this question in the "Introduce Yourself" category and got two really helpful answers, but was hoping for a few more thoughts, so I figured I'd post here as well since it's more specific to my question...so pardon any redundancy.

I'm a beginner snowboarder (going for my fourth day trip this Sunday) and I'm planning to head over to buy my first snowboard later today so I can learn without constantly switching up equipment. I've narrowed it down to two choices: the Arbor Poparazzi and the Arbor Cadence.

The saleswoman at the sporting goods store insisted that the Cadence was a park board, and was very adamant that the Poparazzi was the better board for me. I've also read that the Poparazzi is pure all mountain, which is generally a good place to start, while the Cadence is a park board.

At this point in my snowboarding experience, I'm not looking to do tricks or jumps or anything crazy. I just want a board that is easy to control even when my form is a little off (turn, etc.) but which isn't a complete speed demon. I'm also on the East Coast and do most of my riding in the Catskills, which means things can be pretty icy, so that's a factor as well.

I'm leaning towards the Cadence (mostly because the design is SICK but also because I've read/heard that it's a bit easier to ride than the Poparazzi) but I'm wondering whether there are any disadvantages to a beginner using the Cadence purely to go down the slopes for the time being. Any other thoughts or opinions welcome!

Danke!
PlainJane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-21-2013, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)