The Cliche "What do I buy?" Thread - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2008, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Glyko

Default The Cliche "What do I buy?" Thread

Hey all -

Been browsing the site a bit, really amped for the upcoming season.

I used to board a decent amount, but I was a young teen, and like many of my other hobbies, snowboarding was short-lived. I never got very good, but always found a way to have fun on the mountain (isn't that what it's all about?).

Anyway, last winter, I started riding again, although I didn't get to go too much...maybe 5 or 6 times. I've been concentrating on freeriding, hitting a few small jumps (mostly falling), and just enjoying long runs down the mountain. This season, I want to concentrate a little bit more on trick riding, get more pop out of my jumps, and hopefully hit the park a few times.

Right now, I'm riding a Limited Enduro Wide 159, with Burton FS bindings and Ride boots - I'm pretty sure it was a beginner's package set up for me by someone at a ski shop when I was a kid, but I don't really recall...like I said, it was about 6-7 years ago.

I'm a bigger guy than most riders I see on the mountain - 5'10", 225 lbs. I know I'll probably need a wider, bigger board than most, but I'm still not really sure as to what's my best bet. Most buying guides I've found on the internet are general and vague at best, and don't really help too much.

So what do you guys think? I'm looking for something in terms of brand, size, etc. I'm open to any and all suggestions.

Can't wait to ride!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-04-2008, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Glyko

No replies - Maybe a little more info would help?

I'm an East Coast (CT) rider. For the most part I ride local mountains - places like Catamount, Hunter, etc.