Freeride/Pow Stick? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-

Default Freeride/Pow Stick?

Hey all,

I just started riding this year, and I've got about 14 days in so far. I know a pro can shred on anything, but I'm looking for some help to match my stats and preferred riding style with the ideal board.

After the last 2 days of knee to waist deep pow my back leg will never be the same. I have a knot in my quad the size of a cantaloupe. I started on a 2012 Raygun 159 I bought for $220 from Evo. It's been a great board to learn on, but it seems a little short for me and too soft.

Stats

5'10"
195ish (200+ geared up)
US 9 - 9.5 (depends on the boot)

I live in Northern Coastal BC so PNW type of conditions. I have trip coming up to Utah next month and a nice bonus coming in just before then. Daddy wants a new board.

As for riding style, pretty much strictly freeride (zero interest in park). I've left the groomers and I'm just starting to experiment with steeps and trees. I like popping on rollers and wind lips and would like to work on carving when I'm not riding deep pow. I've been practicing a little switch and I can link turns switch on greens.

I would like something that is serviceable switch, but it isn't a must. My priorities are float, dampness, speed. However, I also want a board that I can maneuver in trees. So, what are some good options for a guy my size for waist deep PNW or Utah powder, natural jumps, and high speed groomers? It would also be nice to be able to butter or press a little on the groomers, but I guess I have the Raygun for that.

So far I'm thinking Never Summer Premier F1, Raptor, or GNU Billy Goat. I'm also thinking 162 - 164 cm for length.

Thoughts?

Thanks!
OldDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement