Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Base Repair w/ P-Tex -Making it "Pretty" (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/70521-base-repair-w-p-tex-making.html)

onefutui2e 02-28-2013 10:11 AM

Base Repair w/ P-Tex -Making it "Pretty"

Hey guys,

I started playing around with repairing my base with p-tex this season, just as an extracurricular activity and because I like fixing my own stuff. I watched some YouTube videos, read a few guides, bought some sticks, a metal scraper, etc. and got to work.

The p-text looked like it stuck and I scraped, buffed, and waxed my board and everything seems okay. The only "problem" I have is that it looks ugly as sin. When I overfill the gouges and scrape it away, there's still some residue left on the base itself that stays.

Earlier this season I had a gouge filled by a shop and it was very, very clean (pretty much just filled it and nothing more). This was all done with black p-tex on a white-ish base. I don't give a shit about looks, but I'm wondering how the shop was able to get the fill in so clean while mine looks unsightly. It doesn't help that almost all the YouTube examples I've watched has had people doing it black-on-black.

Is there some sort of magic ninja technique to base-filling? I was thinking maybe instead of dripping the p-tex onto the board directly, I use the metal scraper to kind of guide it in, but even that seems to require more precision that I have. Or is this simply a matter of the shop having more machinery at its disposal and that a DIYer like myself will never really approach the finish that they can achieve?

herjazz 02-28-2013 10:33 AM