Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums

Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/forum.php)
-   Boards (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/)
-   -   Do i need another board for Japan/Switzerland? (http://www.snowboardingforum.com/boards/7163-do-i-need-another-board-japan.html)

krazibone 09-22-2008 02:20 AM

Do i need another board for Japan/Switzerland?

Hi guys

Some may remember me from 2-3 months ago at the beginning of our Australian winter i was on a hunt for my first board and settled with a Rome agent. Since our winter season is over i am currently experiencing post-winter depression and have decided to go to Japan and Switzerland for more snowboarding in Jan/Feb.

Do i need another snowboard for Japan something like a powder board or free ride board? If so anyone got any recommendations for a certain type of board? I have no experience in powder and would love to learn how to ride deep powder so i can avoid spending 5-20 minutes climbing out of deep snow. :D Are these types of boards generally stiffer compared to the free style boards?

Some examples:

Custom X?
Neversummer SL?
Nitro Pantera?
Rome Anthem/notch?

friends 09-22-2008 02:57 AM

sounds like you have enough money to buy me a 2nd board.

krazibone 09-22-2008 03:01 AM

not really :cheeky4:

Ride_Capita 09-22-2008 04:09 AM

i am a big fan of the k2 believer or k2 gyrator. both boards would work well in the powder but the believer can also be used as a park board very effectively. up to you of course.

oneplankawanka 09-22-2008 11:13 AM

I don't know being that japaneese snow and all...sell all your gear and buy all new that damn japaneese snow.. geez.. and when you come over to the states the snow is completely different over here so sell all your gear then too...

krazibone 09-22-2008 06:15 PM

Hi Ride

Thanks for your suggestion i'll have a look at the boards you mentioned.

nzboardlife 09-22-2008 09:12 PM