I found a great deal on a Burton Doom 157 is it too small. (6 year n00b!) - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2008, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
mixtnutz532

Default Board recomendations and sizing for a 6 year n00b!

[EDIT: (The original post is below) Well I did some more research. I had never looked at Atomic Snowboards before. I came across the Atomic Alibi. It seems like a great all around board that can be good for all-mountain and stellar in the park. I found a few 2008 models for about $250. I can get it in a 159 or a 166. I'm pretty sure the 159 would be the best choice however I can't find any info on the weight range each size was intended for by the manufacturer. Anyone have any info on this or know where I can find one any cheaper?]

First off here is all my background info. I have been snowboarding for 6 years (missed last season though). I got my first board for Christmas and have been riding it ever since. I never really learned anything about gear because I never really hung out with any experienced riders, unfortunately. I've enjoyed snowboarding with my current setup but only recently realized how horrid the setup is.

I ride a door. Its a Rossignol Nomad wide. Its stiff, its sluggish, its heavy. I have the cheapest bindings you could find on the market 6 years ago. And my boots are atleast 3 sizes too big and don't even have liners. I wish I was joking. I just sucked it up when I was learning because I remembered the torture the ski boots caused and just assumed it was supposed to hurt. I just got used to it over the years. I still love snowboarding even with that experience. Now that I know better and have actually put some research into it and made some friends who are experienced I want to start over. I never realized how little I really know about the sport until now.