big rider.. buying my 1st board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2008, 01:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
cb1417

Smile big rider.. buying my 1st board

I've been snowboarding for a few years now but since I've never lived close enough to a mountain it's only been on trips about twice a year. This puts me at a blue-black freerider and i hope to take on some of my first real blacks this christmas at Keystone CO.

I am 6'3'' 240 with a size 13 shoe.. the last board i rented was a 172 and it was huge.. but i was able to handle it(i am fairly athletic and pretty much just powered the board around with my lower body) but the more research i do, makes me think that I would be a lot happier with a more all-around board around the high 160's.. i am an oldschool skateboarder and my stance is straight with no angle.. i have never been inside a park so i am mainly a groomed run guy until i stray off the beaten path to dodge some trees and float on some powder.

the board is a christmas gift and i get to pick it out..my gf is only a school teacher so i'd rather not go above $900.00 i was planning on hitting up a local Keystone board shop but i'd like to go in with a few board ideas and atleast some numbers in my head. The last few seasons i've done riodoso, winterpark, i'm headed to keystone this christmas and probably breckenridge for spring break.

I've looked at the Burton Supermodel Snowboard 168
Eff.edge (cm) Nose/Tail (cm) Waist (cm) Sidecut (m)
132.50 29.86 25.60 8.55

Salomon Tempest Snowboard 166
130.00 31.60 26.80 8.7

Burton Malolo Snowboard 166
128.25 31.14/29.14 25.60 8.48

are these the numbers/style of board i should be looking at? as far as boots and bindings i want a strap in and a highback but i am clueless when it comes to name brands and quality...everyone says that they're the best