About the BTX... help! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2008, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
thepinknoodle

Default About the BTX... help!

I am new to snowboarding. Last year was my first season. I was only able to board a small number of times due to a late start in the season and living back east and flying out west to board. I boarded on a board that was way to big for me at the time, but I just borrowed a friends gear and didn't really care much as long as I got to ride.

Ok, so now I have moved out west and the season is fast approaching. I want to buy a board. I've been looking at the GNU and Roxy boards. I ran across the term "Banana Traction" or BTX and am now confused as to if it is something I should be getting. From what I have read about it it sounds like something that would be beneficial to me... even as a beginner.

A bit more about me... I am 5'4" and 110 lbs. Based on the research I've done thus far I think I need a board length of about 141 to 143 and a width of 229. Any advice at all on the subject would be greatly appreciated as I have absolutely no gear of my own yet and will be purchasing it all very soon. Thanks so much!