Total Noob, Help Please! - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2008, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
CherBear

Cool Total Noob, Help Please!

Hi, I'm new to the forums and I've been wanting to try snowboarding for a while now. I'm confident I'll love the sport as I'm sick and tired of being left behind every weekend while all of my friends go skiing. Skiing seems too stuffy for me so snowboarding is what I'd like to try! I skiied way back when and I like the rush, so like I said, I have no doubts I'll love snowboarding.

I read your "new boarders read this please" thread and here are my answers to your questions:

I'm about 5'5 and 135 pounds. I have no idea what my boot size is! My standard shoe size is 7.5-8.5. I have no idea what my riding style would be, but I definitely want to start slow. I'm 23 and I don't really have a budget, but I don't want to go crazy either. I'm in Colorado and plan to be in Telluride a lot.

So anyway, I know NOTHING about any of the equipment other than that I need boots, bindings and a board. So any and all advice is welcome! Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-19-2008, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
forum_jiblet

well if you are looking to do park you want a flexy board with mondo pop that is a little smaller than it should be, short backed bindings.. and some good boots... NEVER CHEAP OUT ON BOOTS and ALWAYS try em on before you buy!!!

if you are looking to do more pow. you will want to get a longer, stiffer board... and some high back bindings.. again GOOD BOOTS are key...

binding angle is all you... what ever feels comfortable... i ride with 5* angle on the back and, 15* angle on the front..
Old 10-19-2008, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
ThinkFloyd

Most people would give this advice: Rent First.