Sorry to beat the dead horse, what's the best all mountain/freeride board? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2008, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Sorry to beat the dead horse, what's the best all mountain/freeride board?

I'm an amateur/intermediate rider. I've had about one season of riding but went a lot! I'm 5"10-11 and weight about 190lbs. I will be riding to develop my skills to become better than I am, so I want a board that will help me be practical to learn and develop skill but is still able to use as an advance boarder later in the future. I ride the mountain and that's basically it. I will do some park but that is the last of my concerns. I wear a size 11 boot and I will be rocking the Ride SPi with DC Judge Boots.

In a thread I made earlier, Snowolf told me that with my size boot, I don't necessarily have to go with a wide board. Another rider at a shop I talked to said that I want about half of an inch of my heel and toe to be off the board. Is this true?

To the final question, what board should I get? I'm willing to spend up to $700. What's the best all mountain/freeride board that I can get?

I've looked at:
Rome Flag/Anthem
Rome Agent
Burton Custom/X
Atomic Hatchet
Atomic Rapture
Atomic Radon
Atomic Alibi
Atomic Dreamraider
Atomic Cold smoke
Never Summer SL-R/Legacy-R
Never Summer Titan

This is just few but many boards out there in the market. Any recommendations and opinions and etc?

Thanks!
DragonXero13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2008, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)

i'm 1/2 a boot size smaller than you, the rome anthem is a great board. you want some boot overhang but not more than 3/4th an inch if i remember correctly.
squishydonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Samyaksambuddhas