New board suggestions - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 01:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New board suggestions

Newbie here.
Started snowboarding last winter, and after intensive lessons with a great coach (Tristan at Stoneham Mountain in QC), I fell in love with the sport.

I ride mainly powder, even in Quebec! Trick is, at my job, I got 10 paid days off per year. So everytime there is a snowstorm, I take a day off the next day and go to the mountain.

I'm not sure what I like yet. I didn't do park yet but, because of my skateboard background, I get envy when I go by... So this year i'll go and try a little. My favorite activity is going everywhere. I don't want a activity specific snowboard. I've also encountered ice here in Quebec quite a few times and boy it is scary... The board starts shaking like crazy and it feels like it has no edge anymore to grip. I would just try to stay balanced and hope for the best...

My specs? 170lbs and 5'10". Boot size : 10.

My board is a Capita Stairmaster Extreme 154 that I got secondhand for a wonderful price last year. Condition was not that good but it served me well for the first year. I found it was hard to ride in powder, it would go right in the snow and not float on it. I'm sure also it was my fault too because my technique is not on par. And I found it was also super easy to catch an edge when changing sides. Especially at the end of the slopes, when my board is almost flat and i'm slowly sliding towards the lifts... Then, bam, on the floor and I see ducks flying around my head... Boy it hurts! It's like your head is catapulted on the floor... Never catched an edge in the slope, only at the base...