Beginner SL or Proto - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2013, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginner SL or Proto

Hi,

I am looking to get a new board for nxt season.

I used rentals this season/last.

I am beginner snowboard who got linking turns down.

Abit on the heavy side with 90kgs and size 9-9.5 shoe size.

I have narrowed it down to SL or Proto. My style of riding is mostly all mountain i don't do any park at all.

However i am still not very comfy on high speeds Might have something to do with rentals i used they got very unstable when i got some speed.

However i am also afraid that i am not buying a board which will punish me a lot for mistakes i make since i am still learning..

Would any of those 2 be good for me? or should i look for another board?

Any help would be nice really.

thanks in advance
Xazii is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2013, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

If you're not looking for park at all why is the Proto even on the list? At your ability level by the time you can really use the SL the way it needs it'll have lost a fair chunk of its "life". Everyone here raves and rants about NS and their wild durability, fact is their boards start to get pretty dead after 60-70 hard days. You'll also probably get tons of people in here stating claims theirs are just like new after 100 days. No. The contruction style doesn't hold life like boards built overseas.