Edge replacement/repair - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
TheCarGuy2021

Default Edge replacement/repair

Hey folks, I've got an '04 Burton T6 which has been one of my main goto boards since I've had it. One of my trips out west last year, I was pretty hard on my equipment. I ended up coming back with broken '05 C-60 bindings, and damaging my edge. I decided to get some new '09 C-60s this year and repair my T6 and get a few more years out of it. I have a degree in automotive engineering and high performance automotive, so naturally I'm a DIY guy. I've always repaired/maintained my boards myself, but I have never done an edge replacement. From my understanding I need to delaminate around the damaged part of the edge, use 45 degree angles on the replacement edge, use epoxy, jewlery screws, etc. I already have all of the supplies, and many many other snowboard tools laying around. I'm just posting this here to ask what tips, tricks, things to be cautious about you guys have from experience doing this. Here are a few pics of the damage.

Thanks guys.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2008, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)

Wow, good luck with the repair. If it was mine I would just look for a new board.
mesomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
TheCarGuy2021

It's definitely repairable. Considering what I paid for the board back in the day, I'd like to keep using it.
Old 11-10-2008, 08:56 AM   #4 (permalink)