Freeride Board and Boot advice needed - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2008, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Watever

Default Freeride Board and Boot advice needed

Hi everyone,

I need some advice on boards and boots since I didn't keep in touch with it.

Weight : 170lbs
Height : 5'10
Boot size : 9
Budget : not limited but not unlimited either
Ride type : Freeride (no more parks for me, too old lol)

Ok, here is my little story about my experience and stuff to put it in perspective.

Like I said, I started riding quite a while ago, and I always preferred freeride to the parks. I was riding every weekends days and sometimes after work day.
But for the last 2-3 years, I lived in Holland (can't have less mountains than there lol) for work/school and only ride 2 or 3 times per winter when in vacation.
Now I am back in Montreal, Canada for good and my equipment are really old (2004 and past) so I need new ones.

My father will help me to buy a new board and boots for my Christmas gift so I can ride with him this winter. (I think he missed me while I was in Europe lol). My father is a ski instructor and get sponsorship from Elan and I might be able to get me a deal at the store he goes to. Unless I get a really good deal, I will keep my binding since I bought them before leaving and are still nearly brand new. They are Salomon SPX 2005 (I think).

So I am looking for advice on some Freeride boards and boots.

I think in 2006, I got the chance to ride two Salomon new era board (from looking at the archive I think it was the Forecast and Era ones but not sure at 100%) for a full day and loved them. But I must say one of them was may be a little bit too stiff. At the same time, I must say I am not a fan of Burton.

Any recommendation on which board and boots I should be looking for ?