New to the sport; have a few questions - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2008, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wake it up

Default New to the sport; have a few questions

Hi, I am very new to snowboarding so please, bear with my seemingly dumb questions.

So I recently bought a snowboard and some bindings after doing some quick reading on this forum. I read about waxing and how important it is. But when I asked the salesman about it, he said that the board came with some really great wax already applied to it. I'm fairly inclined not to believe him. Should I wax the board before my first time out?

And with the board I bought a pair of Flow Light 4 Large bindings. I talked to of my friends who are fairly avid snowboarders and every single one did not recommend them. The store I bought from has a swap out deal, so I am considering swapping them out. Good/bad idea? If so, what bindings would you recommend in this price range? I'm looking for a more park oriented binding seeing as I am riding a Forum Youngblood. The main things I am looking for in the binding is comfortability, A long lifespan, and some nice graphics always helps

Any suggestions/tips?
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-16-2008, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

You can wax it, but if your a newbie its probably not necessary as you wont be bombing down the hill on your first trips anyways..

Atleast not on purpose..ha ha

I wouldn't bother rewaxing...
arsenic0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
kyouness

i'd say trade those bindings for traditional ones. i hear flow bindings aren't really that great until you get into the higher end ones. take a look at rome 390's or burton cartels as they've got better reviews from all over the place than flows in general.