does 2mm really make a big difference? - small rider - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2013, 10:25 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default does 2mm really make a big difference? - small rider

hi. thanks for reading this. i'm an east coast short guy 5' 5" at 133 - 135 lbs.

i've been riding for about 6 years, don't really do the park, at least not rails, just a few small features for jumps.

i do really enjoy pressing (or at least attempting to) all over the mountain but one thing i noticed is that i always felt a bit unstable taking down straight groomers.

i currently ride a 145 capital horror. i was wondering if i could go up a bit in size more and still be able to press... or possibly i should be changing a different size and board?

do the 2mm or even 4mm make a difference in weight and stability or pressing?

thanks guys.

humbly, east coast shortie.
theorist is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-08-2013, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Drunk with power...er beer.

It's cm, not mm.

This question has been asked many times. The thing is, it isn't an all-or-nothing situation. There's an ideal length for a particular board for the type of riding you do. Get a different board with a different effective edge and/or profile, and that length changes. Change your riding style and that length changes. Even then, it's not like you suddenly start falling over. You probably have to go more than 5cm off before you start to notice a significant difference.

Most boards (all?) have a chart indicating weight ranges for a given board size. If you're in the middle of the range for a given size, that's you. If you're towards either end of a range, you can probably choose that size or the next one over depending on your preferences. But don't over-analyze. Just go out there and hit that shit.