buying my first board - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2008, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
GreatBallsOfire

Default buying my first board

Hello, I have been riding for many years, and have been on rental equipment for way too long.
For this coming season, i have decided to finally shell out the money for my own stuff.
I'm gonna need a complete set up with board, bindings, and boots, and would like to keep it around 500$

first off: is this a reasonable price for a decent set-up? and if not, what should i expect to pay?

secondly: what size board do i need? I'm rather tall and skinny at 6'3" and about 155lbs. and should i go wide? my shoe size is a us12.
...i usually only get to the snow about 12 days out of the season, and when i do, conditions aren't always optimal. I prefer speed and carving and haven't spent much time in the park. however, as i said, conditions aren't always great and i often find myself stuck with icy or man made snow, unable to find powder.

Third: with this information in mind, what boards would you guys recommend?

any help and advice you could give is much appreciated.
thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2008, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Personally if it was me i would spend 2/3rds of that cash on boots/bindings and the remainder on board. ~200ish on boots, 125-150ish on bindings and the rest on board. Your best bet is to buy a good pair of fitting boots, then find a good burton or some other larger brand board/binding combo package..or buy used on craigslist/ebay. You can get some killer deals off those sites if you arent looking for a specific board...

I wouldnt recommend used boots though, unless they have only been ridden a few times..
arsenic0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
-LIFETIME MEMBER-