Too young??? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
ctm1708

Default Too young???

Just asking any parents out there how young did you start your kids boarding?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2008, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
falconis

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctm1708 View Post
Just asking any parents out there how young did you start your kids boarding?
i don't understand the question and the meaning of this thread...
Old 11-17-2008, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)

Well I'm not a parent but I am an instructor and taught alot of children.

At the resort we don't start lessons for kids to snowboard until they are 7 years old. However in private lessons we take them at any age. I've taught a couple of kids at young as 3 and generally its a very very tough time for them to learn. They have no real fine motor skills so they struggle to move small sets of muscles which is required in snowboarding. Personally I feel that at that young an age you should start them off skiing. It takes a massively shorter amount of time to be able to get going unassisted and this means that they will be much more interested in it and not be disheartened by not being able to do it. Plus they will get a feel for how it feels to glide on snow and how edges feel.

For many very young children being able to snowboard is not an achievable goal wheras being able to snowplough down the mountain on skis is, so I like the idea of getting them stoked to be on snow in the mountains than spend their time falling on their ass because they can't make the small adjustments needed.

Generally kids coming from skiing have the same set of bad habits that and instructor has to iron out after a few years skiing but I feel thats a better result than them hating it at a young age because they can't physically do it.