My turn to beg for advice - new equp - new rider - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2008, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Default My turn to beg for advice - new equp - new rider

Hey guys, been kind of lurking for the past 2 weeks or so. But coming up in december there's a equipment sale here in madison and if I find something that you guys recommend I may buy boards + bindings for myself and my wife.

First me: 27 (super old)
5'11" - 175 lbs.
10.5 boot
I'm too old to do park stuff, and i don't want to knock my teeth out. So i'm looking for an all-mountain board. I'm a noob when it comes to boarding, only been out a couple times. Most of my snow surfing will be done in WI, but I do head out to the west every once and while. I don't care about having a board that is park capable, but i'd like one that has enough flex to make it easy enough to learn on.

What do you think? My idea is to find 2007/08 boards at this sale of models that you guys mention. Also what size should I focus on for all-mountain? 160cm? I've read all the reviews by BA, but it seems like most of his rides were park boards. My ideal riding will be pow and tru the trees, but i'm nowhere near that skill level yet.

Let me know what you think, and i'll provide the hot man love. or just a thank you. whichever works.
-snowjeeper
snowjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-20-2008, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

BTW while reading other advice threads people mention the rome anthem, and that board looks to be exactly what i'm looking for. I'm not sure on the flex. It's also waayyy to expensive for me to buy a new one this year (09).

Also, looking for a board for my wife. She's like 5'4" 120 #s. Size 8 boot I believe. She has the same goals as me, but a little bit better rider.