Motorized Freestyle Snowboarding Simulator? - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2013, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Motorized Freestyle Snowboarding Simulator?

Hi Guys,

My name is George, from Melbourne, Australia. This post is to give a little sneak peek into a board project that a friend and I have been working on since 2010. The name is BajaBoard.

Words are cheap, so before I get into any of that, check out for yourself the attached photo to get an idea. We are working out of our garages, so it may not look the most polished.

BajaBoard started as an idea of creating a motorized board that snowboarders can enjoy in the off-season. Motorized boards are not new, but to date, they all have been more or less mobility scooters. We wanted one that can actually FREESTYLE. I'm not talking about a casual drift or an incidental jump off a mound. I'm talking serious air time, grinds, grabs and flips. Think Crusty Demons, think Nitro Circus.

So, we came up with the BajaBoard - for the extreme sports enthusiasts, the adrenalin junkies, the dare devils and perhaps a few nut cases. It is designed by board riders (and professional engineers) for board riders. Throw it into the car trunk or strap it to your roof rack. Turn your local park into a snowfield (or motocross arena) at your whim.

The machine you see in the photo is our Prototype Generation 1. It has not been refined or styled. From playing with this baby, we are now implementing all the lessons learnt into a Prototype Generation 2 in Sept. It will be lighter, meaner, slightly smaller, and better integrated.

The BajaBoard's proprietary design will offer:-

- Independent suspension & steering - to land BIG jumps and for responsive handling (dirt half pipes anyone?)
- Dynamic wheel behavior - stable at speed and easy to carve;