Can't decide between the two - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Can't decide between the two

Hey guys, I'm new here and came for an advice. I'm a big guy. 6'1, 190ish lbs, size 12 boots. I have been snowboarding for about 7 years. I like carving and going fast. I would love to go in the powder in the near future but for now some fast groomers is my main terrain. I've been renting boards up till now and tried a lot of different brands and shapes. I like the classic camber Burton boards and I'm currently looking at the Burton Custom (165W) or The Burton Custom X (164W). What I like about them both is that they both have camber, frostbite edges and a stiff construction. I love a responsive board and a one that can hold it's edge at high speed. So the reason why I haven't just chosen the X is because I hear that it is more for pros and well I don't consider myself a one now. I can ride any type of groomer from green to dual black (as long as these have not just sheet ice. Rental boards cand hold their edge on the ice and that is one of the reason why I am looking to buy my own). So is the X really that big of a difference compared to standard Custom?
MartMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2013, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Member

Short answer, yes. And don't worry about not beng a "pro". You'll grow into the board. Better to get sonething better now and then not have to replace 2 years down the road.

Other options tjat fit your riding are the Ride Highlife, K2 Slayblade, Yes PYL, or a Salomon Burner.

That thing I do to escape the world and have fun with my friend

Also, buy my things?
http://www.snowboardingforum.com/buy...ml#post1737634
Nivek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 05:37 PM   #3 (permalink)