first board? help please - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
weedhots

Default first board? help please

hi guys. i'm new to this forum. and i need help picking out my first board :]

i've been snowboarding a while now, so i'm not a beginner. i'm looking for a free ride board. i snowboard about 4 or 5 times a year, so i want one that lasts a while even if i get better. i'm a girl, i'm 5'8" and 135 lbs. i'm looking to spend at most 300 on a board. can anyone help me please?

also, are these any good?
palmer halo
ride vista
rossignol zena
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-23-2008, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
weedhots

oh and i live on the east coast, and my shoe size is 7.
Old 11-23-2008, 03:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Fallen Saint

I don't know much about the female specific boards but my suggestion is to pick what you want. Chances are you already have an idea of what you want? But for opinions, a couple of the girls I know ride K2 Luna which is suppose to be a good board. 1 rides a Nidecker Elle and the last rides a Rossi Zena (I think?). None of them are pro's but they're pretty good and none most of them have had their boards for at least 2 seasons so...

I'm from NC riding in the Appalachians and fresh pow is rare and you end up riding a lot of refreeze. So if you're conditions are anything like that, personally, I would suggest checking out the Lib Tech stuff. I don't know of any reason why a female can't ride a "male" stick. So if you're open to that I would suggest something with Magna-traction and Banana rocker like the Skate Banana. Magna-traction cuts through the hard pack and refreeze really well and rides smooth. But that's just my opinion.