Pain + fear: Heels lift out of boots. Tight boots & bindings cramp feet, calves. - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
SnowboardingForum.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2008, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
deftective

Default Pain + fear: Heels lift out of boots. Tight boots & bindings cramp feet, calves.

Hey.

I'm a beginner. Ridden once a year for the last several years. Still uncomfortable linking from heel- to toe-side. I have a season's pass, a used rental board with bindings, my own boots, and I'm excited to learn.

I've got narrow heels, wide toes, skinny ankles, and large calves which start lower to the ground than most women's (I'm short). It's really hard for me to find boots that hold my heels. In most rental boots, my heels would step right out (2 inches). In my Solmon Ivy 06 boots, my heels easily lift out an inch, if the boots aren't tight-tight-tight; lift out an inch less easily if the boots and bindings are super-tight. Is this much heel lift a concern for control?

I ask because I feel like my heel lift affects my confidence in turning. And I exhaust myself every run, because I feel like I've got to bend real low to keep a toe edge, and flex my feet real hard upward to hold a heel edge, there's just so much room above my toes in those boots.

Also, with the boots super tight, my calf muscles burn throughout every run from compression. And when the bindings are super tight, my feet cramp during every run, from being compressed into not-flatness.

I put superfeet in my boots to remove some of the extra space, and bring my heel up to the narrower ankle-hugging-part of the boot. This is what the shop guys at Killington suggested. Has helped a bit.