DNS lookup failed..help with this - Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-09-2011, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Muki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
DNS lookup failed..help with this

So that's the error message I get when I try to load a web page on my wireless connection on my laptop. It says I'm connected to my network and have excellent signal strength, but nothing loads.

I made sure that my connection automatically obtains an IP address and DNS server, tried the Google DNS server, flushed the DNS cache, ran a ping 8.8.8.8 and ping Google test in command prompt with unfavorable results.

I don't know what else I could try at this point.

November needs to hurry up and come
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Muki is offline  
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-09-2011, 09:58 AM
Member
 
ScottVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Millstatt, Austria
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You could try manually adding DNS servers to ur wifi nic IPv4 properties. Let it obtain the IP address from ur router, but specify primary and secondary DNS as 4.2.2.2 and 4.2.2.4. If that doesn't work connect ur laptop to the wifi router with a cable, turn off ur laptops wifi card and rule out anything related to wifi or ur laptops card. If u can't even ping 4.2.2.2 once ur setup, u have a routing problem, not DNS. HTH..
ScottVD is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-09-2011, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
HoboMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
That's a pretty typical symptom of either:
1. Working router and dead internet connection
2. Interface error between router and computer.

What operating system are you running? Is it a new router you just set up?

Is this the first time you've used Wi-Fi with the router (your other computer is hardwired?)

PowderHound and TreeNinja
HoboMaster is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Muki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
No, I've had wireless for a couple years now so the router was set up and working fine up until Sunday.

I tried wiring my laptop to the routers and modem, that didn't fix it.. so I plug my desktop back in to how it was and get this...the desktop lost internet connection.

So now, I'm running my desktop directly from the modem to my PC, the culprit seems to be the wireless router, so hopefully just reconfiguring it will help.

November needs to hurry up and come
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Muki is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 03:15 PM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
baldylox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 3,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You said your comp was assigned an IP address....what address? Is it 169.254.x.x? 192.168.x.x? Where you able to ping the gateway?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
baldylox is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-10-2011, 03:20 PM
Veteran Member
 
ThunderChunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kissing Bridge
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know this sounds dumb ad simple.....but have you tried resetting your router?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2hipp4u View Post
Im all for having fun, showing your tits and getting fucked up on a river float but it can be done without being a pig.
ThunderChunky is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-12-2011, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Muki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just reconfigured the router, changed among other things..all is swell now. Thanks for the help.

November needs to hurry up and come
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Muki is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Snowboarding Forum - Snowboard Enthusiast Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome